Now Playing: Summer Jams

img_0779.png

Summer 2017 is officially here! And in honor of the season, I put together a Spotify playlist for the bright sunshine and warmer weather. These are songs that have lifted my spirits, encouraged me, and make me want to dance. Some of these songs also represent a time of transition. When you’re young, summer is the season between grades—Fifth grade to Sixth grade, Elementary School to Middle School etc. For me, this transition is from college graduate to full-time job. For both the summer season and the transition season, this is the music that has spoken to my soul.

A few of the songs featured include:

I’ll Find You (Lecrae ft. Tori Kelly) 

Recently released, this single serves as a reminder that we are never alone. God is on our side, and desires us to come to Him in our sorrow and pain. Not only that, but God places friends and family in our lives to lift us up. It’s a difficult subject, but the song’s message  is one that is never said enough.

So, “Just fight a little longer my friend/ It’s all worth it in the end / When you’ got nobody to turn to / Just hold on and I’ll find you.” 

The Comeback (Danny Gokey) 

“The Comeback” is from Gokey’s most recent album release, Rise. For me, this represents the perfect summer song. It is a song about making a comeback. Gokey says, “This is your time your moment / the fire the fight your golden / You’ve come so far keep going / Oh here comes the comeback.” And what better time for a comeback than summer time?!?! Plus, the song’s upbeat nature radiates summer and sunshine. It represents a new chapter, just as summer is a season before change.

Fearless (Jasmine Murray) 

I WANT TO BE FEARLESS. It’s a statement many say, but few believe will actually happen. But Murray’s song, “Fearless,” reminds the listener, with God that, you can be fearless. You simply must step forward in faith.

This has become my prayer: To step forward in faith and trust God through it all. Maybe, you need this reminder today. I encourage you to give this song a listen, and remember that God provides for our needs.


Check out the rest of the Spotify playlist here and give it a follow. I’ll be updating it throughout the season with more of my favorites!

Are there any songs missing from my summer playlist? Leave some song suggestions down in the comments! They just might be added 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

