Our Favorite Hymns & Songs, Transformed

Have you ever noticed how many different versions of one hymn or song exist?

Take ” Good Good Father,” for example.  Originally written by Pat Barrett and Tony Brown, the song has been covered by multiple artists.

1. Chris Tomlin (ft. Pat Barrett)

This version of “Good Good Father” gets the credit for being the first to reach my ears. I credit part of this to Star 99.1, who played it constantly after it was released as a single, and my love of Tomlin’s music. Nevertheless, I’ll never forget those lyrics that seeped truth into my soul:

You’re a good good father
It’s who you are, it’s who you are, it’s who you are
And I’m loved by you
It’s who I am, it’s who I am, it’s who I am

They told me I am loved by the Creator. He knows Who I am, and is always there for me— as a good father who loves his children.

And, for this reason, Tomlin’s version of ” Good Good Father” will always hold a special place in my heart.

Check out more of Chris Tomlin’s music  on YouTube.

2. Housefires (ft. Pat Barre

Housefires, a worship band located in Atlanta, Georgia, was actually the first to record “Good Good Father.” It is a song off their 2014 album, Housefires II (SongFacts). It is also one of the later versions of the song I heard. However, I love this version because it was recorded live. When listening, I can feel the raw emotion behind every word.

Check out more of Housefires’ music on Youtube.

3. Casting Crowns

Casting Crowns, a Georgia-based group, sang “Good Good Father” as part of the band’s 2015 album, “A Live Worship Experience.” This version of “Good Good Father,” like Housefires’ version,  is recorded live. It gives the listener just what the album title implies — live worship. Specifically, at 5:00, Mark Hall encourages the audience to “sing it with me.” And just like that, the listener is enveloped in the song as he sings, “You’re perfect in all of your ways, You’re perfect in all of your ways to us.”

Check out more Casting Crowns’ music on YouTube.


Yet, these three renditions of “Good Good Father” only scratch the surface of the numerous versions available. And this does not only apply to “Good Good Father.” There are many other songs (i.e. “Amazing Grace,” “It Is Well”) that multiple artists have sung, with each adding their own interpretation.

In fact, I noticed this occurs often within the Christian music community. Worship songs tend to circulate, and each artist puts their own spin on the songs. It is a way for each to contribute their own feelings and meanings to the pieces. As a result, they become a collective cry of worship. A cry with many emotions attached, but one purpose: to draw your eyes up to Heaven.

 

Do you have a favorite version of a hymn or song? Let me know in the comments! 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

